Your Shopping Cart

It appears that your cart is currently empty!


Dodgers win 1st World Series title since 1988

by Blog Updates |

Los Angeles snapped its championship drought to claim a seventh World Series title and first since 1988, beating the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 in Game 6 on Tuesday.

The Dodgers lost in two of the previous three Fall Classics and fell to the eventual champion Washington Nationals in the 2019 NLDS.


Corey Seager was named World Series MVP, going 8-for-20 with two homers and six walks. Seager is the eighth player to win MVP in both the World Series and LCS, and he's the first since Madison Bumgarner in 2014.

Left-handed reliever Victor Gonzalez earned the title-clinching victory, striking out three over 1 1/3 hitless innings. Julio Urias got the save, recording the final seven outs without allowing a hit, striking out four. The relief appearance followed Urias' Game 4 start during which he allowed two runs in 4 2/3 innings.

Rays right-hander Nick Anderson was hit with the loss after he replaced Blake Snell, who was controversially removed from the game following 5 1/3 dominant innings.

Following the contest, Justin Turner was revealed to have tested positive for COVID-19. Turner started the game but was removed to start the eighth inning. Edwin Rios replaced him at third base.

The 2020 season seemed to be in jeopardy after Major League Baseball postponed play during spring training due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. After months of negotiations between the league and players, an unprecedented 60-game season was ratified, featuring empty stadiums during the regular season and an expanded postseason with 16 teams. MLB allowed fans to attend in a limited capacity during the NLCS and World Series at Globe Life Field in Arlington.


Source: The Score