Your Shopping Cart

It appears that your cart is currently empty!


Mar 11, 2018 - Daylight Saving Time Starts

by Blog Updates |

When local standard time is about to reach
Sunday, March 11, 2018, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 11, 2018, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour later on Mar 11, 2018 than the day before. There will be more light in the evening.

Which Provinces and Territories use Daylight Saving Time in 2018

Green: Areas in Canada using DST in 2018
Yellow: Areas in Canada on standard time all of 2018

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada (13 in total, 9 where all observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

Alberta Mar 11 - Nov 4 Northwest Territories Mar 11 - Nov 4 Quebec (east) No DST
British Columbia (east, northeast, southeast) No DST Nova Scotia Mar 11 - Nov 4 Quebec Mar 11 - Nov 4
British Columbia Mar 11 - Nov 4 Nunavut Mar 11 - Nov 4 Saskatchewan (east, west) Mar 11 - Nov 4
Manitoba Mar 11 - Nov 4 Ontario Mar 11 - Nov 4 Saskatchewan No DST
New Brunswick Mar 11 - Nov 4 Ontario (southwest) No DST Yukon Mar 11 - Nov 4
Newfoundland and Labrador Mar 11 - Nov 4 Prince Edward Island Mar 11 - Nov 4

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

  • Canada first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1908.
  • Canada has observed DST for 106 years between 1908 and 2018 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1913.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.


Source: Time and date